Yes. 53% of live US medical sales postings with a description say they will take someone from outside medical sales, naming outside or B2B sales, clinical work, the military, scientific or technical work, or athletics as the route in. This report does not count teaching, so a teacher’s nearest routes are a first B2B sales job or an associate title.
53% of US medical sales job postings say they will take somebody from outside medical sales. That is 4,835 of 9,170 live postings with a description, at 681 employers, naming an outside or B2B sales background, a clinical or allied-health background, transitioning military, scientific and technical work, or athletics as a route in.
| Background | Postings | Share | Employers | Asking for 1 year of experience or less |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Outside or B2B sales | 3,693 | 40% | 362 | 1,154 |
| Clinical or allied health | 1,859 | 20% | 165 | 612 |
| Military or veteran | 350 | 4% | 29 | 153 |
| Scientific or technical | 536 | 6% | 60 | 287 |
| Athletics | 254 | 3% | 13 | 144 |
A posting is counted under a background only when its text accepts that background as a way into the role and does not also require medical sales experience of someone coming from it. Other credentials and experience conditions still apply. A background the posting merely prefers does not outweigh a requirement for medical sales experience. A posting that names no background does not mean the employer excludes it.
The posting's qualifications name a non-medical sales background — B2B or outside sales, sales in any industry, or medical experience preferred but not required — and no requirement in the posting demands medical, pharmaceutical, device or clinical selling outright. A posting asking for B2B sales in one bullet and requiring five years of pharmaceutical sales in the next is not counted.
3,693 postings — 40% of the postings counted — at 362 employers. Of those, 1,154 state an overall experience requirement of one year or less.
| Industry | Postings naming it | Of | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Care services | 172 | 218 | 79% |
| Home medical equipment & care | 213 | 336 | 63% |
| Distribution | 127 | 227 | 56% |
| Health IT & software | 112 | 245 | 46% |
| Biotech | 565 | 1,243 | 45% |
| Medical device | 1,481 | 3,482 | 43% |
| Diagnostics | 270 | 678 | 40% |
| Pharmaceutical | 753 | 2,741 | 27% |
| Call point | Postings naming it | Of | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dental Practice | 181 | 219 | 83% |
| Veterinary | 53 | 70 | 76% |
| Pharmacy | 40 | 69 | 58% |
| Surgery Center | 56 | 111 | 50% |
| Operating Room | 575 | 1,195 | 48% |
| Home Health | 59 | 128 | 46% |
| Physician Office | 1,413 | 3,442 | 41% |
| Lab | 37 | 91 | 41% |
| Employer | Postings naming it | Of | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amgen | 395 | 395 | 100% |
| Stryker | 253 | 409 | 62% |
| Charlie Health | 138 | 138 | 100% |
| Abbott | 105 | 311 | 34% |
| Lincare | 73 | 79 | 92% |
| Syneos Health | 71 | 391 | 18% |
| Aquestive Therapeutics | 70 | 80 | 88% |
| AbbVie | 67 | 141 | 48% |
| Years | Postings | Share |
|---|---|---|
| 0-1 | 529 | 14% |
| 2-3 | 1,599 | 43% |
| 4-5 | 728 | 20% |
| 6+ | 156 | 4% |
| Not stated | 681 | 18% |
The posting's qualifications name a clinical or allied-health credential or background as the candidate's own — a nursing license, surgical or cardiovascular technologist, respiratory therapist, medical laboratory technologist, experience in the sterile environment of an operating room or cath lab (however it was gained) and the like. Naming clinicians as the people the role sells to does not count, and 'clinical sales experience' is medical selling rather than a clinical background. General 'healthcare experience' is not counted.
1,859 postings — 20% of the postings counted — at 165 employers. Of those, 612 state an overall experience requirement of one year or less.
| Industry | Postings naming it | Of | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medical device | 1,157 | 3,482 | 33% |
| Home medical equipment & care | 79 | 336 | 24% |
| Biotech | 266 | 1,243 | 21% |
| Diagnostics | 66 | 678 | 10% |
| Pharmaceutical | 265 | 2,741 | 10% |
| Distribution | 13 | 227 | 6% |
| Health IT & software | 13 | 245 | 5% |
| Call point | Postings naming it | Of | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cath Lab | 271 | 476 | 57% |
| Emergency Critical Care | 40 | 92 | 43% |
| Operating Room | 486 | 1,195 | 41% |
| Home Health | 40 | 128 | 31% |
| Imaging | 23 | 76 | 30% |
| Surgery Center | 27 | 111 | 24% |
| Physician Office | 620 | 3,442 | 18% |
| Oncology Center | 85 | 511 | 17% |
| Employer | Postings naming it | Of | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amgen | 221 | 395 | 56% |
| Stryker | 198 | 409 | 48% |
| Abbott | 137 | 311 | 44% |
| Medtronic | 119 | 147 | 81% |
| Zimmer Biomet | 49 | 64 | 77% |
| Boston Scientific | 47 | 105 | 45% |
| Quipt Home Medical | 44 | 49 | 90% |
| Bristol Myers Squibb | 43 | 47 | 91% |
| Years | Postings | Share |
|---|---|---|
| 0-1 | 84 | 5% |
| 2-3 | 787 | 42% |
| 4-5 | 325 | 17% |
| 6+ | 53 | 3% |
| Not stated | 610 | 33% |
The posting names transitioning or separated service members, junior military officers, a military pathway or program, military experience or service as a qualification, or a comparable invitation, anywhere in its text. Equal-opportunity and protected-veteran statements are excluded sentence by sentence, so a posting counts only for an invitation of its own.
350 postings — 4% of the postings counted — at 29 employers. Of those, 153 state an overall experience requirement of one year or less.
| Industry | Postings naming it | Of | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medical device | 202 | 3,482 | 6% |
| Pharmaceutical | 95 | 2,741 | 3% |
| Biotech | 35 | 1,243 | 3% |
| Diagnostics | 14 | 678 | 2% |
| Health IT & software | 3 | 245 | 1% |
| Distribution | 1 | 227 | <1% |
| Call point | Postings naming it | Of | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Room | 162 | 1,195 | 14% |
| Pharmacy | 6 | 69 | 9% |
| Physician Office | 137 | 3,442 | 4% |
| Payer | 3 | 93 | 3% |
| Oncology Center | 13 | 511 | 3% |
| Cath Lab | 11 | 476 | 2% |
| Emergency Critical Care | 2 | 92 | 2% |
| Veterinary | 1 | 70 | 1% |
| Employer | Postings naming it | Of | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stryker | 119 | 409 | 29% |
| Novartis | 54 | 67 | 81% |
| Johnson & Johnson | 43 | 124 | 35% |
| Pfizer | 22 | 53 | 42% |
| Merit Medical | 16 | 16 | 100% |
| Abbott | 13 | 311 | 4% |
| IQVIA | 13 | 51 | 25% |
| ZOLL Medical | 13 | 47 | 28% |
The posting's qualifications name scientific, engineering, laboratory bench, field-service, applications or R&D work as a background the role accepts (field clinical engineering and clinical or applications support at a device company among them), or a non-sales scientific field. A science-degree preference alone is academic evidence, not proof that scientific work replaces medical-sales experience.
536 postings — 6% of the postings counted — at 60 employers. Of those, 287 state an overall experience requirement of one year or less.
| Industry | Postings naming it | Of | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Biotech | 236 | 1,243 | 19% |
| Medical device | 186 | 3,482 | 5% |
| Diagnostics | 32 | 678 | 5% |
| Home medical equipment & care | 14 | 336 | 4% |
| Distribution | 8 | 227 | 4% |
| Pharmaceutical | 57 | 2,741 | 2% |
| Health IT & software | 3 | 245 | 1% |
| Call point | Postings naming it | Of | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lab | 16 | 91 | 18% |
| Cath Lab | 61 | 476 | 13% |
| Physician Office | 309 | 3,442 | 9% |
| Pharmacy | 6 | 69 | 9% |
| Veterinary | 5 | 70 | 7% |
| Operating Room | 54 | 1,195 | 5% |
| Oncology Center | 22 | 511 | 4% |
| Imaging | 2 | 76 | 3% |
| Employer | Postings naming it | Of | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amgen | 221 | 395 | 56% |
| Abbott | 55 | 311 | 18% |
| Stryker | 25 | 409 | 6% |
| AstraZeneca | 24 | 31 | 77% |
| Medtronic | 23 | 147 | 16% |
| Pfizer | 22 | 53 | 42% |
| ZOLL Medical | 15 | 47 | 32% |
| Applied Medical | 14 | 41 | 34% |
The posting names athletics as experience or achievement it values in the candidate — collegiate or professional athletics, being a student-athlete, athletic teams, or athletics listed beside academics, military service or leadership. Athletic trainers (a clinical background), athletes as the patients or users of a product, and athletic departments as customers are not counted.
254 postings — 3% of the postings counted — at 13 employers. Of those, 144 state an overall experience requirement of one year or less.
| Industry | Postings naming it | Of | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medical device | 163 | 3,482 | 5% |
| Pharmaceutical | 66 | 2,741 | 2% |
| Diagnostics | 12 | 678 | 2% |
| Biotech | 12 | 1,243 | 1% |
| Distribution | 1 | 227 | <1% |
| Call point | Postings naming it | Of | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Room | 162 | 1,195 | 14% |
| Physician Office | 83 | 3,442 | 2% |
| Oncology Center | 7 | 511 | 1% |
| Employer | Postings naming it | Of | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stryker | 138 | 409 | 34% |
| Novartis | 54 | 67 | 81% |
| Applied Medical | 14 | 41 | 34% |
| Esperion Therapeutics | 12 | 14 | 86% |
| IQVIA | 12 | 51 | 24% |
| Guardant Health | 11 | 47 | 23% |
| Caldera Medical | 7 | 7 | 100% |
The military, clinical and athletics backgrounds each have a page of their own: the veterans page, the nurses and clinicians page and the former athletes page. The break-in guide covers B2B and outside sales, and the six job titles to search.
For a first role, the guide to breaking into medical sales starts at the beginning, and entry-level medical sales jobs lists the roles asking for a year of experience or less.
US medical sales postings live on the board that carry a job description. The board does not list non-promotional field roles such as Field Reimbursement Manager, and any it holds are left out. A posting with no description cannot name a background, so it is left out of the count altogether rather than counted as naming none.
A posting is counted under a background when its own text names that background as an accepted or invited route into the role, and does not also require medical sales experience of someone coming from it. Other credentials and experience conditions still apply. An employer that hires from a background without saying so in the posting is not counted, so absence is not evidence of anything.
Where the sentence naming an outside-sales or clinical background states a number of years, the lowest figure in that sentence is recorded. It is a separate figure from the posting's overall experience requirement and never replaces it. 'Unstated' means the sentence gave no figure, not that none is wanted.
Of the postings counted under a background, how many state an overall experience requirement of one year or less — the board's own reading of the whole posting, not the years the background sentence itself asks for. A posting that states no requirement is not counted here.
No industry or call point is shown from fewer than 25 postings, and an employer appears once 5 or more of its postings name the background. An employer is listed under a background once at least the stated minimum number of its postings name it. The share beside it is of that employer's postings in the population, and is a description of how they write their advertisements rather than of who they hire.
Counted on November 8, 2026. The board is rewritten twice a day, so this is a snapshot. Cite the date with the number.
This report counts an alternative background only when the employer posting names it as acceptable applicant experience. The backgrounds include outside or B2B sales, clinical work, military experience, scientific or technical work and athletics. Mentioning nurses as customers does not establish that nurses qualify. A positive background signal also does not waive the posting’s other requirements; read the full qualifications before applying.